Tuesday, December 07, 2010   Zilhajj 30, 1431 A.H.    ISSN 1563-9479
 Group Chairman: Mir Javed RahmanFounded by: Mir Khalil-ur-RahmanEditor-in-Chief: Mir Shakil-ur-Rahman 
 Home | Top Stories | World |  National | Business | Sports | Karachi | Lahore | Islamabad  | PeshawarEditorial | Opinion | Stock Instep Today Newspost |
Aqil elected KBA president
 Tuesday, December 07, 2010 
By our correspondent
 The results of the annual election of the Karachi Bar Association (KBA) were officially declared on Monday. The election was earlier held on Saturday. According to official result, Mohammed Aqil was elected President by securing 1,719 votes against his runner up Naeem Qureshi who got 1,573 votes.
The other newly-elected members of the cabinet are Haider Imam Rizvi elected Honorary Secretary by getting 1,187 votes, while his runner up received 809 votes. The Vice President elect is Abdul Hameed Yosufi who secured 1,121 votes against Dilawer Hussain who got 998 votes. Mohammed Saeed Abbasi who was elected as Joint Secretary by getting 1,641 votes defeated Mohamed Aslam Bhutta with a margin of only 12 votes as he received 1,629 votes.
Zulfiqar Solangi was elected Treasurer by bagging 961 votes against his rival who got 755 votes. For the post of Librarian Mohammed Shoaib (Abdi) was elected by securing 1,849 votes (highest amongst the office bearers) and his rival Abdul Waheed Khan received 1,402 votes.
The names of 15 Member Managing Committee according to their positions are Zulfiqar Ali who got the highest votes 2,014, Syed Dilsahd Hussain Shah 1,713, Ghulam Mustafa Sial 1,664, Abdul Qadir Syed 1,639, Kafeel Ahmed Jaffery 1,630, Sakina Khatoon 1,569, Farhana Siddiqui 1521, Abdul Rasheed 1469, Mohammed Javed 1460, Zakia Lakho 1,439, Waqar Ahmed Sial 1,389, Shah Imroz Khan 1,354, Faisal Mohammed Yaseen 1,339, Akber Zameen 1,305 and Amir Maqsood 1,283.
The previous body of KBA would continue functioning till December 31 and the new body would take over on January 1, said the newly elected secretary Haider Imam Rizvi. The date of oath-taking ceremony will be announced later on, he added.

Copyright © TheNews. All rights reserved.